According to the Wisconsin department of transportation, 625 fatalities were recorded in 2012 with most resulting from hit-and-run accidents . While finding yourself in any sort of accident is quite distressing, falling prey to a hit and run charge is even more distressing as the penalties can be substantial.
If you are charged with a simple hit and run criminal offense in Wisconsin (property damage only) you may face penalties of up to 6 months in jail and a fine of up to $1000. However, if anyone was injured in the accident the penalties are increased to up to 9 months in jail and a fine of up to $10,000. If the person injured in a hit and run accident suffered great bodily harm, it becomes a class E felony in Wisconsin. And, when a Wisconsin hit and run involves a death it is a class D felony.
Hit and run offenses typically occur when there is an accident and the driver of the motor vehicle fails to stop. However, it can also be considered “hit and run” if the drivers stops, but then leaves or fails to provide required information.
In some hit and run cases, the police are able to trace the vehicle or driver through CCTV footage. Other times they use witnesses, vehicle damage and restoration services, and other times suspects simply turn themselves in to the police. What should you do if you are involved in a hit and run? The answer is simple. Call an experienced lawyer like Attorney Carlos Gamino. If you have been involved, or are even a suspect, in a hit and run in Wisconsin, a Milwaukee criminal defense lawyer should be your first point of contact.